Welcome to ChaoticAbyss
May 19, 2024, 03:11:23 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome to ChaoticAbyss!

Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Here are some suggestions for this promising server  (Read 9433 times)
Kepuli
Gelatinous Cube

« on: September 07, 2005, 01:16:41 AM »

I know that some of these suggestions would require big changes to the module, and they may be too difficult to accomplish, but here they are anyway.
I also know that the module is still under development, so ignore any suggestions that are already taken care of.
I've been playing NWN multiplayer for over 2 years now, and I've seen both good and bad servers. Here are some of the main features that I think make a good server:

1. The world should have one starting city (or max 3), and it should be simple and small enough to fit into a single area (map).
This would gather all players into one place, so socializing and selling items would be easier.
(what use is a server with 50 players if you don't meet anyone?)

2. Fully player based economy! This server has nice tradeskills, so NONE of the NPC shops should sell anything but basic items ONLY (not even +1 items).
This would quarantee that players need to buy the better items from other players who craft them.
Also, a craftsman should be able to sell the crafted items to other players ONLY, so that profits couldn't be maid by selling them to NPCs.
Or optionally, NPCs would give VERY small amounts of money for the items.

3. Gold should be relatively hard to get, but still not too hard.
Easy monsters shouldn't have great treasures, and there shouldn't be too many items available as treasures (because nobody would buy the crafted items anymore.
They would hunt the treasure items instead)
I've been on servers where 10 000gp is a truly colossal amount of money,
and that makes things more interesting: the value of gold suddenly claims its place.